Skip to main content


Helvie signs with Saginaw Valley State

Huntington North senior Emma Helvie put pen to paper on Monday afternoon, Nov. 14, signing with Saginaw Valley State University to continue her academic and softball careers as a Cardinal. Located in University Center, Michigan, Saginaw Valley State is an NCAA Division II institution that competes in the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference. While Helvie had also considered schools like Grand Valley State University, Huntington University and Indiana Wesleyan University, among others, Helvie ultimately decided Saginaw Valley State was the way to go.

Vike Athletics Dept. launches new website

 Huntington North High School Athletics is releasing a one-stop shop website encompassing team schedules, rosters and other valuable sports information. This is a new website separate from the existing HNHS page that holds only a singular tab for athletics. HNHS Athletic Director Jeremy Markham has been in the works planning an athletics website since he filled the position last summer. And now his planning is becoming a reality. This summer, Markham worked alongside HCCSC Public Relations Coordinator Eric Andrews preparing a new website through rSchoolToday.

HU track athletes earns national honors

The U.S. Track & Field Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) named the All-Academic athletes and teams for the 2022 NAIA Track & Field seasons with Huntington well-represented in both programs.

On the women’s side, five Foresters were tabbed NAIA Academic All-Americans which includes Shelby Christman, Sydney Lambert, Abigail Mays, Emily Tedder and Carmen Trier.

Etna Acres golfing results

The team of Gary Sweet, Jim Shearer, Kevin Cox, and Larry Sprowl won the July 12 Etna Acres Seniors Scramble with a low score of 31.

Mike Bickel was closest to the pin on hole No. 2 while Shearer earned the honor on No. 8.

Paul Schroeter blasted the longest drive on No. 3 and Darwin Stoffel did the same on No. 9.

Don Conley recorded a chip-in on No. 9, while Sprowl chipped in on No. 6, as did Sweet on No. 3.

Baker captures men’s Huntington Amateur championship

Maple Grove and Clear Creek golf courses teamed up to host the Huntington County Golf Amateur Sunday, July 10.
Caden Baker won the Men’s division with a combined score of 148 and Dalton Hoch placed second with a 157.
Todd Johnson was tops in the Seniors division with a 171 followed by Tony Marsh with a 185.
In the Super Seniors group, Curtis VanOver beat Drave Driscoll on criteria after both finished with a 179.
Finally, Don Hunt won the Super/Super Seniors title with a 170, followed by Richard Motz with a 180.