United Way thanks many at campaign celebration

The United Way of Huntington County held a Community Thank You Celebration at the Forks of the Wabash on Wednesday, April 10.

At the celebration, 2012 Campaign Chair Mike Pogorelc recognized 34 organizations as recipients of awards of excellence, meaning 80 percent or more of the organization's employees gave at least one hour of pay to the United Way.

Pogorelc also reported that 23 organizations reported a 20 percent increase in donations from the previous year's campaign.

The campaign raised a total of $655,000, he said.

"Although less than last year, it is still enough," he noted.

Pogorelc received recognition for serving as the chair for 2012 campaign and was the recipient of the Ray Vanderspool Volunteer of the Year Award.

He has been volunteering with the organization for more than 10 years.

The Bob Smith Campaign Award was presented to Pete Schownir, of Huntington University, a retired United Way board member.

Lincoln and Northwest elementary schools received the Campaign Chair Award.

Pogorelc recognized the schools for their continued effort to encourage donating at a 100 percent level.
He then passed the torch to the newly appointed 2013 campaign chair, Nicole Johnson.

Johnson is an Edward Jones financial services representative and has been involved with the United Way since 2002. She served as chairman of the board for the Huntington County Chamber of Commerce in 2012.

She said she is looking forward to giving back to the community during 2013.

Complete caption: United Way Award winners gather at the United Way of Huntington’s Thank You Celebration on Wednesday, April 10. The winners (from left) Nancy Peace, representing Northwest Elementary School; Sally Morrison, representing Lincoln Elementary School; Pete Schownir, of Huntington University; and Mike Pogorelc, United Way’s 2012 Campaign Chair, were awarded the Campaign Chair award (to each school), the Bob Smith Campaign Award and the Ray Vanderspool Volunteer of the Year Award, respectively.