Outstanding teachers honored

Photo provided.

State Sen. Andy Zay (R-Huntington, second from left), Superintendent of Public Instruction Dr. Jennifer McCormick (far right) and Dr. Stacy Hammons, provost at Indiana Wesleyan University (far left), honor 10 local teachers at an appreciation luncheon at IWU Tuesday, May 2. The 10 teachers, who were chosen by their district superintendents, were honored for their outstanding contributions and commitment to education. Pictured (from left) are Hammons; Zay; Shelly Faust from Southwood Junior/Senior High School; Jarod Hammel from Huntington North High School; Mark Yordy from Oak Hill High School; Brittany Smith from Whitko High School; Jabin Burnworth from Manchester Junior/Senior High School; Amy Shearer from Indian Springs Middle School; Jennifer Warnock from Wabash Middle School; Kimberly Queen-Townsend from MuCulloch Junior High School; Chris Brisco from Churubusco Junior/Senior High School; Julie Neargardener from Eastbrook Junior High School; and McCormick.