Memorial Day tribute to honor 89 county vets who died in 2017

The Veterans Council of Huntington County and the County Veterans Service Office have finalized plans for the 2018 Memorial Day Program, to be held Monday, May 28, at 6:30 p.m. at The Awakening Community Church, 235 Safari Trail, Huntington.

Doors will open at 5:30 p.m. and the program is open to the community. The facility is handicap-accessible.

The memorial tribute will honor 89 veterans from Huntington County who died during 2017. Members of the Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 2689 and American Legion posts 7, 85 and 160 will present the Post Everlasting ceremony, a formal flag folding as well as a cannon salute and the playing of “Taps.”

Memorial wreaths will be laid by the mayor of Huntington, the Huntington County commissioners as well as all members and auxiliaries of the VFW and American Legion posts.

In addition to the Memorial Day program, the council will distribute around 2,400 American flags to the cemeteries in the county. In most cases the flags will be placed at the entrance to the cemeteries and citizens are invited to take a flag and place it on the grave of their veterans.

The veterans who will be honored are Gerald D. Anders, Rick E. Arivett, Harold D. Arnett, Richard J. Augspurger, Robert Jack Barnett, Robert E. Beach, Spencer D. Beals, Raymond E. Bir, Larry Ray Black, Gary Lee Brinneman, Charles F. Burcham Sr., Kenneth W. Burkhart, Roger Wayne Cavins, Howard F. Cherry and Louis L. Chesterman.

Also, Paul H. Clark, Earl Leroy Clester, Robert Franklin Cline, Cloid W. Cloud, Brian D. Culley, John L. Dalrymple Sr., Carl Keith Davis, George Joseph Deal, James E. Dishong, Arliss J. Drabenstot, Jeremiah Driscoll, Lloyd T. Driscoll, Bryce E. Eiler, Wilmer H. Fields, Bobby Joe Fox, James H. Gamble and Donald Ray Garner.

Also, Edward G. Garnett, Alexander M. Garrett, Charles W. Garrison, John W. Garrison Sr., Russell Eugene Gilmer, Russell E. Griffith Jr., Richard S. Grove, Matthew S. Guest, John Anderson Hacker, Robert L. Heffelfinger, Thomas M. Herzog, Frank R. Herzog, Richard A. Homier, James L. Hoy, Max L. Husband, Charles A. Iser, William H. Kinsey, Max E. Kinsey, Homer Frederick Kline, Rex D. Lange and Paul Edward Leffers.

Also, Floyd E. Leffert, Royce F. Magsig, James L. Manning, Robert E. McLaughlin, William O. Millner, Raymond E. Morris, Larry E. Nave, George R. Paul, Russell J. Poehler, Charles R. Primmer, Frank L. Pyle, Robert J. Reddin, Harold E. Reeves, James S. Romary, Arlen M. Sands, Donald E. Scheiber, Roger H. Schnepf, William R. Shaneyfelt, James E. Slaughter, Jerry G. Smith, Stanley L. Smith and Robert Carl Smyth.

Also, Charles F. Stanley, Thomas Phillip Tullis, John Dale Ulrich, Charlotte D. Wagonner, Monte Joe Wall, Paul L. Walton, David S. Watts Jr. James William Weber, Jack E. Wedlake, Kenneth D. Whitesell, Thomas R. Wilbur, Eugene C. Worden, Walter Gerald Yoder, Angel Zenquis and William P. Zent.