Deadline passes for May 7 primary filing

The deadline for members of the Republican and Democratic parties to file declarations of candidacy for the municipal election primary passed on Friday, Feb. 8.

In all, four offices in Huntington drew interest from multiple Republican candidates.

Brooks Fetters will seek the GOP nomination to pursue a third term as Huntington’s mayor. He will face a challenge from Larry Buzzard, the president of the Huntington County Commissioners.

The Republican nominations for the two at-large seats on the Huntington Common Council attracted the attention of four candidates. Of those hopefuls, two are incumbents – Seth Marshall and Jack Slusser. They will be facing competition from Patrick “PJ” Felton and Brandon L. Whitesell.

The GOP nod for the 2nd District seat on the Common Council is being sought by Paul L. Pike, who currently holds the seat, and a challenger, Paul Scalf.

Likewise, the Republican nomination for Common Council’s 4th District seat is being pursued by the incumbent, David E. Funk, and a newcomer, Rabih Ayoub.

Outside of Huntington, there are four candidates vying for three GOP nods to the Andrews Town Council. Those contenders are incumbent John Harshbarger, plus Laura Dillon, Van Juillerat and Roger L. Newsome Jr.

The following candidates will run unopposed in the primary, which is set for May 7.

City of Huntington
Christi Scher McElhaney. *

City Common Council, 1st District
Charles “Charlie” Chapman. *

City Common Council, 3rd District
Richard Strick. *

City Common Council, 5th District
Joe Blomeke. *

Clerk-Treasurer, Town of Andrews
Laury L. Powell.

City Common Council, 3rd District
Richard Douglas Mills.

Andrews Town Council (3)
Raymond R. “Ray” Tackett.
* - denotes incumbent.