State commissioners association elects Wall as group’s secretary

Photo provided.
Tom Wall

Huntington County Commissioner Tom Wall was elected 2018 Secretary of the Indiana Association of County Commissioners (IACC) during their recent annual conference.

As secretary, Wall will represent the elected county commissioners in the 92 counties of the state. The IACC is represented by six districts in the state. Wall will be secretary of the IACC’s Executive Board of Directors, which determines policies and legislative goals for the association.

Nathan Gabhart, Daviess County commissioner and the newly-elected president, says, Wall will be a great spokesperson for the association and is very dedicated to improving local government.

Judy Anderson, Vigo county commissioner, was elected vice president; and Kendell Culp, Jasper County commissioner was elected treasurer during the meeting as well.

The elections were held during the IACC’s 2017 annual conference, the largest gathering of county commissioners in the state. The three-day conference included several different workshops and breakout sessions that were designed specifically for county commissioners and support staff.

Wall and others attended several training workshops concerning such county-related topics as “Working Together … Achieving More,” where they discussed working together in all areas of local government and focused on community mental health center funding, criminal justice reinvestment, needle exchange, workforce development, managing risk, emergency preparedness, county veterans service officer and more.