Long names Holdman chairman of tax committee

Indiana Senate President Pro Tem David Long (R-Fort Wayne) has named State Sen. Travis Holdman (R-Markle) chairman of the Senate Committee on Tax and Fiscal Policy.

Holdman will assume the duties of the chair immediately, replacing State Sen. Brandt Hershman (R-Buck Creek), who is retiring from the Senate Jan. 2. In addition, Holdman will replace Hershman as a member of the Senate Committee on Appropriations, also effective immediately.

“I’m very grateful and humbled to be named chairman of the Senate Tax and Fiscal Policy Committee,” Holdman said. “I will approach both of my new appointments with a focused and measured approach, and will work hard to ensure that Indiana’s tax policies continue to serve our state efficiently and effectively.”

Long credited Holdman’s breadth of experience in the Senate as having prepared him for the responsibility of chairing the powerful committee.

“Sen. Travis Holdman is more than ready for his new role as the chair of the Senate Committee on Tax and Fiscal Policy,” Long said. “He has consistently shown the keen acumen and strong leadership skills required to take on this most important committee chairmanship. Sen. Holdman is also a man of unquestioned integrity and character, and I know he will handle this new job as expertly and effectively as he has every other important task assigned to him in the Senate.”

Holdman previously served as the chair of the Senate Committee on Insurance and Financial Institutions, but will relinquish his chairmanship and membership on that committee to take on this new role.

The Indiana General Assembly will reconvene Jan. 3 for the 2018 session.