Raising the flag

Photo by Matt Murphy.

Senior Vice Commander Michael Smith (left) assists Jerry Walling, Veterans of Foreign Wars chaplain, in raising the flag at a ceremony outside Lancaster Elementary School on Thursday morning, Nov. 12. Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 2689 in Huntington sponsored the flag raising in observance of Veterans Day on Nov. 11.

Warsaw buzzsaw beats HNHS girls in OT in opener

Huntington North High School's Este Stoffel maneuvers with the ball against Warsaw in the girls' junior varsity basketball game on Saturday, Nov. 14. Both the JV and the varsity fell.
Photo by Andre B. Laird.

The Huntington North High School girls' varsity basketball team ran into a fourth quarter buzzsaw and wound up getting beaten in overtime by visiting Warsaw, 78-75, in its season-opener on Saturday night, Nov. 14.

The Lady Vikings were cruising with a 42-25 lead after three quarters of play before Warsaw rang up 36 points in the final quarter to send the game into overtime at 61-61. The Lady Tigers then outscored HNHS in the extra session, 17-14, to send HNHS to the loss.

Foresters beat Division I ranked Lindenwood to claim Ness Bross Classic crown

Huntington University junior Kellen Zawadzki goes strong to the hoop against Trinity International in the Foresters' opening game of the Ness Bros. Hall of Fame Classic on Friday, Nov. 13. The Foresters won the title on Saturday, beating Lindenwood.
Photo by Matt Murphy.

The Huntington University men's basketball team wasted little time re-establishing itself as one of the premier programs in NAIA Division II as it beat a ranked Division I school, Lindenwood, 84-67, on Saturday afternoon, Nov., 14 to claim the crown at its own Ness Bros. Hall of Fame Classic.

The Foresters were not very good hosts for the classic as they walloped Trinity International , 92-69, on Friday night, Nov. 13, to earn their shot at the championship.

Dorothy Deemer

Dorothy Deemer, 75, of Huntington, IN, died Thursday, Nov. 12, 2009, at 9 p.m. at Parkview Hospital in Fort Wayne.

Mrs. Deemer was a 1952 graduate of Huntington High School. She was a homemaker and the manager of the Majestic Credit Union, retiring in 1996. She was a member of Central Christian Church. She was also a member of the Historical Forks of the Wabash, Daughters of the American Revolution, Sigma Phi Gamma Sorority and the Star Light Dancers, all in Huntington. She was active with the annual Pioneer Festival for many years, performing spinning demonstrations.

Oak Lanes Bowling Results -- Fall Leagues

Oak Lanes bowling scores
week of 11-9 (first half)

Monday Early Bird
Men's High Game: Bill Reed, 210; Bill Kusler, 171; Thurman Glassburn, 165.
Men's High Series: Bill Reed, 599; Bill Kusler, 496; Thurman Glassburn, 454.
Women's High Game: Billie Smith, 156; Rosalyn Hughes, 142; Sharon Wymer, 132.
Women's High Series: Sharon Wymer, 382; Rosalyn Hughes, 366; Billie Smith, 360.
Top Teams: The Bs, 19-5; Team #2, 15-9; Team #3, 14-10.
Most Over: Bill Reed, +110; Thurman Glassburn, +55; Rosalyn Hughes, +48.

Playing at the next level

Photo by Andre B. Laird

Huntington North High School bowling standout Elizabeth Bischoff (seated, center) signs her letter of intent to continue her career at Marian University, on Wednesday, Nov. 11. Also on hand for the signing were Bischoff's parents Stacey Bischoff (left) and Jim Bischoff (right) and Marian University Head Bowling Coach Chad Harding. After a season in which she was a member of the Lady Vikings' state runner-up team last year, Bischoff was a member of the Indiana All-Star team that defeated the Kentucky All-

E-mailed plea for cash called a scam

Huntington residents be warned: An e-mail is circulating claiming that the leader of a local organization is in need of money because she is stuck in the United Kingdom.

But, in fact, she hasn’t left town.

Huntington Police Chief Tom Emely says the e-mail is a scam, and anyone who receives it should not send money.

Huntington County Wrestling Club to have call out meeting, skating party

The Huntington County Wrestling Club is having a call out meeting and free skating party on Thursday, Nov. 19, from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. at West Park Skate Center, Ind.-9 and U.S. 24, Huntington.

Those wishing to sign up will need a copy of their birth certificate and an ISWA card. Wrestlers must be at least 5 years old.

There is a fee, but scholarships are available upon request.

Practices start Nov. 30, 2009.

Most equipment will be provided.

For more information, contact Richard Huffman, 356-8875, or Andy Eckert, 786-1430.


Betty J. Dalrymple

Betty J. Dalrymple, 86, of Huntington, IN, died Wednesday, Nov. 11, 2009, at 2:55 p.m. at Parkview Hospital, Fort Wayne.

Mrs. Dalrymple graduated from P.A. Allen High School, Bluffton, in 1941. She went to work for General Electric, Fort Wayne, after high school and retired in 1986 from Wabash Magnetics after 30 years of service.

She was born June 19, 1923, in Salamonia, Jay County, to Raymond O. and Eliza M. Rush Campbell. She married Bryce H. Dalrymple on June 24, 1943, in Huntington. Her husband preceded her in death on March 25, 1992.

Rebecca D. Baca

Rebecca D. Baca, 98, of Huntington, IN, died Wednesday, Nov. 11, 2009, at Holy Family Health Care Center, Victory Noll.

Ms. Baca retired from the New Mexico State Corporation Commission after 28 years of service. She was a member of the Democratic Women of Santa Fe County and served on the Bernalillo School District Board of Education for many years. She was also a member of the Secular Franciscans and the St. Francis Altar Society.

She was born Feb. 6, 1911, in Pena Blanca, NM, to Esquipula and Isabelita Romero Baca.


Subscribe to Huntington County Tab RSS