Davenport edges Prather for Discover Roanoke 10K crown

Brad Prather (left), of Roanoke, gets a hand from a race worker as he comes in second overall and first in the men's 36-49 division of the Discover Roanoke 10K race on Saturday, April 20. Photo by Steve Clark.

Austen Davenport, of Columbia City, was the winner of the Discover Roanoke 10K road race held Saturday, April 20.

Brandon Perry was the winner of the 5K race and Alex Gass, of Roanoke, was the 1-mile run winner.

Davenport, 27, crossed the finish line in 35:22.7 to claim the overall title and male open championship. He beat Brad Prather, 41, of Roanoke, to the finish line by just over 30 seconds as Prather went 35:52.9.

Prather was the champion of the male 36-49 class.

Third place finisher Rigel Jaquish, of Fort Wayne, was the winner of the male 19 and under division with his time of 38:55.7.

Fourth place finisher Joe McFarren, of Roanoke, ws the winner of the male 20-35 division, with a time of 40:28.2.

Denise Conrad, 51, of Decatur, was the overall female champion, crossing the finish line in 12th place overall in 45:18.3.

Female 19 and under winner was Emily Eherenman, of Roanoke, with a time of 49:00.6. Samantha Chapman won female 20-35 with a time of 51:05.3, Dawn Fontaine was the female 36-49 winner in 56:01.8, Sheryle Brasten, of Fort Wayne, won female 50-64 in 49:24.7 and Betty Nelson won female 65 and over with a time of 1:00:39.7.

Male 50-64 winner was Jeffrey Metzger, of Fort Wayne, with a clocking of 44:28.1.

In the 5K race, Jenna Curcio was the female open winner, clocking in at 24:29.7. Maggie Gilliam won female 19 and under at 27:06.1 and Calley Kandies was the female 20-35 winner at 24:04. Kristine Miller, of Fort Wayne, was the female 36-49 winner in 26:41.4, Susan Morgan took female 50-64 division in 29:33.1 and Mary Burke, of Huntington, was the top woman in 65 and over with a 45:48.8 clocking.

Among the men, Collin Wesco, of Huntington, won 19 and under with a time of 19:21.8, Justin Clark took 20-35 in 18:33.1 and Dave McMComb was the champion in 36-49, in 19:18.8. Stephen Perez took 50-64 in 21:59.2 and Clem Getty was the winner in 65 and over with his time of 38:15.

Ashlynn Foster was the top female in the one-mile run, finishing in 7:29.2.

Among the rest of the women, Nora Steele, of Fort Wayne, was 19 and under champ in 7:49, Allyson Bickel, of Churubusco, was tops in 20-35 in 10:05.4, Terry Donahue won 36-49 in 20:09.6, Nancy Weigelt was number one in 50-64 in 18:33.7 and Ellen Giles won 65 and over in 16:25.2.

Kolton Foster was the male 19 and under winner in 7:36.5.